Journal Assignment #1: Teaching Sentence Structure to Kids

Even though it seems as if I am writing a school assignment, I am not. This blog will not only contain photos, but my daily journal assignments that I enjoy discussing for English and Journalism majors, as well as high students and yearbook staff members.

#1: When you teach children how to write, think of simple vocabulary children can learn and move onto another level if they are ready to be taught a new set of terminology.

#2: Not to mention, teaching them how to shrink their sentences and fill in the blank with vocabulary words is another useful technique how to teach sentence structure to kids

*Now I will provide some examples of incorrect and correct sentences*

A1 (Incorrect): Before bed, mommy was reading me a story about two kids who were best friends who grew up and were split up in middle school because of becoming friends with new kids who came from different schools.

A2 (Correct): Tonight, my mom read a story to me about two kids growing up together as best friends until their separation in middle school due to befriending new kids from different schools districts.

*If my examples are not clear enough,  feel free to comment and I will be happy to explain or blog new examples.

Leave a Reply

